Chamber Accepting Annual Awards Nominations

by Ed/Glen Chamber on January 26th, 2016

On March 12, 2016 at the Edwardsville/Glen Carbon Chamber of Commerce's Annual Community Awards Gala & Auction, the chamber will present awards to members of our community – the Albert Cassens Award for Outstanding Community Achievement, the Tallerico Leadership Award,and the Lifetime Achievement Award. The chamber is seeking nominations for these prestigious awards. The Business of the Year Award will also be presented.

Nominations for all three awards will be accepted through close of business Friday, February 19, 2016.
CLICK HERE to download the Cassens nomination form.
CLICK HERE to download the Tallerico nomination form.
CLICK HERE to download the Lifetime Achievement nomination form.

Please consider nominating a deserving individual for one of these prestigious honors. It is important to note that the Cassens award criteria, at the request of past award recipients, have been adjusted to support the Ed/Glen Chamber's guiding principles and honor an individual whose primary involvement is with a for-profit business. The time frame for the Cassens award has also been expanded to allow for outstanding community achievement within the past two calendar years.

The Albert Cassens Award for Outstanding Community Achievement was established by the Edwardsville/Glen Carbon Chamber of Commerce in 1993 and is presented to an individual who has given freely of his or her time to the community, made a significant impact on the community during the 2014-2015 calendar years, has earned a reputation for his/her exemplary integrity, has demonstrated support for the guiding principles of chambers of commerce, and has demonstrated a personal commitment to social (which may include environmental) responsibility. Previous recipients include Albert Cassens, Mary Kane, Robert Wetzel, Robert Plummer, Robert McClellan, Jamie Henderson, Jeff Lantz, Joe Gugger, Dr. David Werner, Jean Hughes, Don Metzger, Dr. Dale Chapman, Dennis Terry, Tom Allen, Chuck Tosovsky, Mark Shashek, John Motley, Mark Mestemacher, Herman Shaw, SJ Morrison, Gordon Broom, Rod Vaught, and 2015 awardee Paul Millard.

The Tallerico Leadership Award replaced the ATHENA Award in 2010. Rich Tallerico brought the ATHENA International Award to the Edwarsville/Glen Carbon Chamber of Commerce in 1986. The purpose of the Tallerico Leadership Award remains the same - to bring into focus the outstanding professional and business women within our community and to encourage the opening of leadership opportunities for women within the community’s workplaces. Previous local ATHENA/Tallerico Leadership Award recipients include Edna Wolfe, Delores Gooch, Nina Baird, Rosemary Bratten, Evelyn Bowles, Barbara Crowder, Stephanie Robbins, Jill Dufner, Sue Pedersen, Janet Foehrkolb, Evelyn Wiechman, Joan Foster, Meta Minton, Susan Donnelly, Bobby Ragan, Joyce Williams, Dr. Almeda Lahr-Well, Carol Wetzel, Suzanne Dietrich, Kay Werner, Donna Bardon, Barbara Jurgena-Stamer, Elizabeth Levy, Patricia Peverly, Joan O'Saben, Dr. Carol Keene, Teresa Katubig, Ann Tosovsky, Nancy Schneider, and 2015 recipient Patty Navin.​

The Lifetime Achievement Award was established in 2009 and is presented to an exceptional individual who has made a significant positive impact on the Edwardsville/Glen Carbon community through his or her past achievements over a long period of time and has enhanced the quality of life for Edwardsville/Glen Carbon residents. Recipients include Gary Coffey, Dr. Robert Koepke, Edward McCarthy, Robert Wetzel, Gary Niebur, Joe Glik, and 2015 honoree Gerry Schuetzenhofer.​

Thank you for your assistance as we strive to honor those who make Edwardsville and Glen Carbon such great communities in which to live and work.

Chambers of commerce honor and respect capitalism and well-informed private sector job creators as a central and foundational element of regional and national prosperity. Chambers of commerce actively facilitate collaboration and open discussion between business and public officials through educationbusiness advocacy and leadership.

The Edwardsville/Glen Carbon Chamber of Commerce is a member-driven organization, dedicated to a strong, private sector regional economy. For information on Ed/Glen Chamber membership, go to or call 618.656.7600.

Posted in not categorized    Tagged with no tags